car rides

The one thing my dad and I used to love to do together was go for long drives.

I would talk to him about pretty much everything and he would listen and answer all my endless questions.

Even before my step-mother came into the picture it was something we did that I didn’t have to share my dad with anyone else. I could talk about anything I wanted. We would drive anywhere and that was the beauty of it, I was happy to go anywhere so long as he was by my side.

tumblr_mnrv26RJGl1splbwro1_500.gif

One car ride stands out in my mind. I was young, it was after my mother had died and my dad was raising me on his own.

We were driving this time back from the cottage when Bonnie Raitt’s “I can’t make you love me” came on the radio. I’m not sure if maybe it was the incredibly sad tone of the song, coming back from the cottage that he had used to share with my mother or just a moment of thought but he burst into tears.

Before that time, I had never seen my father bawl, I was shocked. Not even the day my mother died, he had held it together until I was gone from sight. He was always the rock in a sea that would not budge.

He cried and told me something like, “You know how much I love you. And I will always love you. No matter what we go through in life we will always have each other.”

I looked over at my father, the picture of strength and thought to myself that I had never seen him as strong as he was then.

To this day that song still makes me cry.

 

 

Leave a Reply

